Home > Web Applications > Microsoft Office Web Apps: Tried it, liked it – but there are some issues

Microsoft Office Web Apps: Tried it, liked it – but there are some issues

I thought I would try Microsoft Word online today and to my surprise it works pretty well. There are pros and cons to using Word online and here are some thoughts off the top of my head.

One thing I definitely don’t like is that the Word editor doesn’t wrap text at a reasonable point within the browser, so I have to re-size the browser to about one-third the width of the screen.  I run my screen resolution at 1920×1024 on a 24″ monitor, so the text goes all the way across the screen before it wraps. You would think they could have implemented a word wrap feature for those of us with larger screens. How hard is that?

The only real issue I have with using Word online is document availability. What happens if my Internet connection goes down? What if the power goes out for a few hours? What if I want to work on a document while I’m on a plane or train? If I have Word installed on my notebook, none of these things are issues.

And what about security? What if a hacker gets may password and wipes all of my documents? Can Microsoft restore my documents from some type of backup? [ BTW - There is no "Backup my files and save it to disk" option ] What about personal or confidential files? What if a hacker gets them? Can anyone managing the infrastructure at Microsoft view my files? At least if I have physical possession of my files, I can keep them on a thumb drive or burn them to CD/DVD and remove them from the computer. If privacy and confidentiality are a concern, then I can’t keep certain files online and I’m back to managing files on my own storage media.

The biggest benefit I see to being able to use Word online, is the fact that I can use it at home, work or any place else that has Internet connectivity, without having to transfer files, worry about my notebook being stolen with data on it or worry about my hard drive going bad – and that’s what makes using Word online really shine.

If you want to test drive any of the Microsoft Office Web applications, click here.

  1. July 4, 2010 at 5:30 am | #1

    I’m no computer expert, but what makes this better than Google Docs or dropbox.com?

    • July 4, 2010 at 7:37 am | #2

      Good question!

      Google docs allows you to save files in many different document types (PDF, Word, etc.) and back up all your files at once. The document editor word wraps like it’s supposed to and you can export the document in different document types in the editor as well. And the email as an attachment feature – that’s neat too!

      I think Dropbox’s features speak for themselves. http://www.dropbox.com/featureshttp://www.dropbox.com/tour

      To me, it comes down to what meets an individual’s or organization’s needs, and trust with respect to availability and security of the files. With that said, I think “better” is very subjective.

      Thanks for stopping by. Good to see ya!

  1. July 7, 2010 at 3:33 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

