Home > Book > Amazon Digital Text Platform: Not Happy

Amazon Digital Text Platform: Not Happy

I put my ebook into Amazon’s Kindle Store through its Digital Text Platform interface over a week ago. As I stated in a previous post, it was easy enough to do, but there is one major problem that I have yet to resolve: The book doesn’t appear in any search results when I enter the main keywords that I’ve specified for the book. Entering a keyword from the title doesn’t bring up the book either. You would think that something this basic would be a slam dunk for a company that’s been selling ebooks for two-and-a-half years. How is anyone ever going to stumble across my book if it doesn’t appear in any search results?

In addition to not being able to find the book through a keyword search, it’s also not possible to find the book by browsing categories.  Security isn’t listed as a subcategory under Computers & Internet in the Kindle Store.  There is also no way that I can see to bring up the full list of subcategories. What’s the point of allowing publishers to specify a subcategory if the subcategory isn’t listed anywhere?

What’s even more frustrating, is that the keywords and category show up at the bottom of the page under the “Look for Similar Items by Subject” section.

At this point, Amazon is forcing me to game the system in order to make it possible for people to find my book. I’m certainly not happy about the situation and given their turnaround time for processing changes, it could take days to figure out what works and what doesn’t.

Why is Amazon making it so hard for self-publishers to sell ebooks? These two issues are so easy to address, even a caveman could do it. I just don’t get it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

